There’s a chill in the air

2

September 18, 2012 by handmadebyfi

Evening all, I’m loving how autumnal everything is becoming, there is a definite chill in the air!  Perfect time to take a break from slogging away on my website (its very nearly there,just tweaking to be done now!) put the heating on, sit in my studio, light my favourite scented candle (Yankee Candles – Cherries On Snow, Yum!) and start thinking about the dreaded ‘C’ word, no, not crafting, Christmas!!  Its a mere 97 days away and is undoubtedly my favourite time of year 🙂  I’ve just ordered some gorgeous festive fabric and have got a ton of ideas for original handmade Christmas decorations, I’ve made a couple already, see the pic below, am loving the gingerbread men fabric!

I stumbled across these pretty little ‘kissing balls’ on the Good Housekeeping website, they’re so cute and very easy to make, perfect craft project to do with the kids!  I’ll post pics of my attempts when they’re done so please check back for an update 🙂

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/holidays/christmas-ideas/christmas-decoration-ideas#slide-1

christmas kissing ball craft

I normally do a combination of craft presents and edible presents (last year it was handmade tomato chutney, pumpkin seed and cranberry biscotti, white chocolate and baileys fudge, dark chocolate truffles and parmesan biscuits, alongside little bottles of spiced rum or damson gin………..I’m making myself salivate just thinking about it!).  What do you guys normally do?  Do you prefer to receive handmade, crafted gifts or shop bought ones?

I look forward to getting some inspiration from your replies 🙂

Thanks for reading XXx

2 thoughts on “There’s a chill in the air

  1. Liesl says:

    I love handmade gifts. Our budget is super tight this year, so we are focusing on only handmade gifts this year. I’m making everyone in my family a pair of socks.

  2. handmadebyfi says:

    I’m hoping for some handknitted socks from my big sis 🙂 We’re on a tight budget this year too, have managed to get some bargain fabric from Ebay and have been trawling the flea markets looking for bits n pieces that I can transform into lovely handmade gifts 🙂

Leave a Reply

