Festivities, creativeness, baking and stress!!!

2

November 13, 2012 by handmadebyfi

Hi

There has been quite a lot going on at Handmade by Fi since I last blogged.  I’ve had the usual craft fairs and day to day website malarkey, the necessary mummy work, lots of crafting and now the challenge of moving house with a toddler in tow!!

We’re moving house soon so I’m going to be spending a lot of time cleaning and decorating, if anyone has any ideas on how to make cleaning house a ‘fun game’ with a toddler I’d be eternally grateful if you could share it!

I quite often use creative time as a really effective way of de-stressing, if its a time of high stress I’m always found in the kitchen or craft room! So far this week I’ve done a mountain of baking (gingerbread, parkin, fruitcake, biscotti, bread, a multitude of fruit pies, oh and my first attempt at fruity gin, I can post recipes if you want?).  I’ve also cracked on with the Christmas pressies too, I’ve nearly finished my mums gift, a wooden craft box decoupaged in vintage tissue paper, will post a pic of the finished item.

I’m going to get my little boy involved in craft time this week, we’re going to make the childhood classic…..paper chains!!   I used to LOVE making these out of strips of brightly coloured paper, they’ll be great fun to make together.

Image

This got me thinking about other quick, easy crafts to do with kids and I found these on http://www.allaboutyou.com/craft/knit-free/Christmas-craft-handmade-Christmas, I love the little cinnamon stick votives, so simple and festive, as long as the kids don’t glue their fingers together whilst making them!

Image

I’ll still be blogging during the move and have made sure my sewing box isn’t being packed away, it’ll be firmly by my side in case I get stressed out and need to knock up a quick Christmas bunting to calm myself down 😉  Any stress relieving, toddler amusing, Christmas craft ideas much welcomed 🙂

Thanks for reading

Fi ❤

http://www.handmadebyfi@wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Festivities, creativeness, baking and stress!!!

  1. Your mum’s Christmas present sounds wonderful Fi, can’t wait to see pictures once it’s finished – just make sure it’s looked after in the move!

Leave a comment